This fine day I decide that i need to blog. And this fine day, I find that this blog of mine created ages ago still exists! I read through my old posts (cringe-worthy), and as age does, reminded me that we are all stupid when we are younger. Or perhaps we are too stubborn and narrow and think or ourselves as wise when we’re older. Which brings me to this topic.

It’s the year 2020. I am 30. I don’t resemble my photo on this blog. I am now married for 3.5 years. I have a house and a car, and a creative career. Almost 7 years ago, I left a promising corporate job at Deloitte to explore my creative side. I also left an equally valuable MBA admission at an IIM to do what I sought to do. I was bursting with ideas of tech business, social entrepreneurship, web technologies, film-making, photography and what not.

Today I work in the field of visual media. Over these years I have dabbled in a wide spectrum of visual media – from camera work, to direction, editing, visual effects, CGI and 3D animation, color grade, photography, graphic design, web design, camera research, and finally virtual reality. I’ve done music videos, Motorsports events, LED visuals for concerts, concert films, corporate films, wedding films and now, an immersive multi-sensory experience. I love telling stories visually.

I digress. This post isn’t my resume. It is an update. And also a reflection of things I would like to do, and a look into what’s motivating me to do them.

Over these years there has been a lot of learning, via impulsive online research and also via good and painful personal experiences. In between I’ve had triumphs and falls, facing mental battles of this journey less taken, going as far as joining a self-development cult (which I thankfully am out of). I learn a lot on a daily basis, and I also feel quite guilty about not sharing what I have learnt. So much of what knowledge I hold today is the contribution of so many wonderful people on the internet, who don’t hold themselves back from sharing and giving back. I hold myself back thinking what I share may not be complete, and as a consequence, may not be useful. I am an over-thinker. However today I’ve decided to not hold back. I would like to share as much as what I learn, and what I know even if it is presented informally. Even about life in general.

I love technology. I love how technology can be used to create amazing audio-visual experiences. I love emoting people with audio-visual experiences. I dig going to the depths of what current technology can achieve and pushing it to deliver the maximum that it can. Cutting edge visual stuff. I love creating stories that move people. Computers, graphics, pixels, cameras, lenses, computer vision, stereoscopy, immersion, digital video, photorealistic CGI, design, interiors, society, psychology, spirituality, dreams – I love exploring all of these. So naturally this is what I’m going to blog about. Life events too if I feel there is something of value to others.

I have accounts on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. But then why am I choosing this old blog over modern social media? Because I felt that there is some charm to good old web logging. Besides I find it easier to vomit my thoughts out typing lengthy posts than make readily consumable video content (the irony!) that social media demands these days. Another motivation is that I found out this website gets views even today; totalling 14000 odd visits at the time of putting out this post. Of course by social media and YouTube standards that’s laughable but it seemed substantial to motivate me to continue. Besides, I’m okay with a lesser number of people noticing me.

Have you noticed that things get boring when people talk a lot about themselves? It’s past 3 am as I finish writing this. My brain is blank now. So much to look forward to.

Adios